BRSU Skin/Face/Spoof Database

RGB- und SWIR-Portraits von Personen mit unterschiedlichen Hauttypen nach Fitzpatrick.

RGB and SWIR portraits of subjects with different skin types (classification by Fitzpatrick).

Background:

In the context of the research projects FeGeb and SPAI, skin samples from a large number of test subjects have been acquired. For this purpose, remission measurements of multiple positions on faces, arms and hands of the subjects have been recorded using a near / short wave infrared (NIR / SWIR) spectrometer. In addition, images of the subject’s faces have been captured from multiple angles using both a standard, but high-quality, RGB color camera and a multispectral SWIR camera system developed at the BRS-U. The primary goal of this measurement campaign was to proof the robustness of the method for contactless skin detection based on multispectral SWIR sensor and imaging systems proposed by the BRS-U. In the SWIR spectrum, human skin can easily be distinguished from other materials, regardless of age, gender or skin type. In addition, the acquired data is used to train classification algorithms to reliably distinguish “fakes”, such as latex masks, from genuine skin.

The resulting databases are partially available free of charge for academic and scientific purposes. This includes all 120 data sets of spectrometer measurements, as well as more than 50 data sets of RGB and SWIR images. The publication of these images has been approved by the pictured subjects. In addition, a database containing spectrometer measurements, RGB and SWIR images of various spoofing attacks such as masks and facial disguises is available.

Details of the database:

The BRSU multispectral skin/face database consists of two parts:

“Spectro”: Contains spectrometer measurements acquired from 120 subjects, measured at 16 positions on face, neck, arms and hands with a spectral range of 660nm to 1700nm using a irSys 1.7 spectrometer by TQ Group GmbH. These remission measurements have been performed using a special two-way lightguide and a standard Halogen lamp. For every data set, information about gender, age and skin type are provided.

“Face”: Contains color (RGB) and multispectral SWIR images consisting of the wavebands around 935nm, 1060nm, 1300nm and 1550nm, as well as the corresponding spectrometer measurements, of (currently) more than 50 subjects. The RGB images were taken with a Canon EOS 50D with 50mm lens. SWIR images were acquired with an Allied Vision Goldeye P032. The complete multispectral camera system is described in [1]. For every data set, information about gender, age and skin type are provided.

“Spoof”: Contains color (RGB) and multispectral SWIR images consisting of the wavebands around 935nm, 1060nm, 1300nm and 1550nm, as well as the corresponding spectrometer measurements, of various spoofing attacks, including (partial) masks and facial disguises. The RGB images were taken with a Canon EOS 50D with 50mm lens. SWIR images were acquired with an Allied Vision Goldeye P032. The complete multispectral camera system is described in [1].

Further details about the databases have been published by Steiner et al. (see [1] and [2]). While the Spectro database can be regarded as complete, the Face and Spoof databases might be extended in the future. Please check back here occasionally for information about updates.

Requesting the databases:

In order to request access to the databases, please complete the request form below (if you don’t see a form below, please follow this link). Provide your name, affiliation and a valid email address, ideally issued by your university, institute or organization. Please use the comments field to describe your field of research and the intended use of the database.

If your request is approved upon, you will receive an email containing information on how to download the databases.

The terms of use can be found here.

Current status:

“Spectro” is fully available.
“Face” was last updated on 2015-04-27.
“Spoof” was last updated on 2016-04-21.
There is no additional (incremental) update available yet.

Contact:

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Norbert Jung
Bonn-Rhein-Sieg University of Applied Sciences
Safety and Security Research Institute (ISF)
Grantham-Allee 2 – 8
53757 Sankt Augustin (Germany)
Tel: +49 (2241) 865 – 792
Fax: +49 (2241) 865 – 8792
email: isf-admin@h-brs.de

References:

[1]: Steiner, H.; Sporrer, S.; Kolb, A. & Jung, N.: “Design of an Active Multispectral SWIR Camera System for Skin Detection and Face Verification”, Journal of Sensors, vol. 2015, Article ID 456368.

[2]: Steiner, H.; Kolb, A. & Jung, N.: “Reliable Face Anti-Spoofing Using Multispectral SWIR Imaging”, Proc. Int. Conf. Biometrics (ICB), 2016 (accepted for publication).

H-BRS Haut-, Gesichts- und Fälschungs-Datenbank

RGB- und SWIR-Portraits von Personen mit unterschiedlichen Hauttypen nach Fitzpatrick.

RGB- und SWIR-Portraits von Personen mit unterschiedlichen Hauttypen nach Fitzpatrick.

Hintergrund:

Im Rahmen der Forschungsprojekte FeGeb und SPAI wurden bei zahlreichen Probanden Hautproben an mehreren Stellen des Gesichts, sowie der Arme und Hände, mit einem Nahinfrarot-Spektrometer (NIR, auch „Short Wave Infrared“, SWIR) erfasst und die Gesichter der Probanden zusätzlich mit einer hochwertigen Farb-Kamera, sowie einem selbst entwickelten multispektralen NIR-Kamerasystem aus mehreren Perspektiven aufgenommen. Vorrangiges Ziel dieser Messreihe war es, die Robustheit des an der Hochschule entwickelten Verfahrens zur berührungslosen Hauterkennung mittels multispektraler Nahinfrarotsensorik nachzuweisen. Haut ist im nahinfraroten Spektralbereich unabhängig von Geschlecht, Alter und Hauttyp sehr gut von anderen Materialien unterscheidbar. Weiterhin konnte mit Hilfe der so aufgenommenen Daten ein Klassifikator trainiert werden, der auch „Fälschungen“ wie beispielsweise Latexmasken zuverlässig von echter Haut unterscheiden kann.

Ein Teil der aus dieser Messreihe entstandenen Datenbank kann über diese Webseite zum Download angefordert und für wissenschaftliche und akademische Zwecke in Forschung und Lehre kostenfrei verwendet werden. Dies umfasst 120 Datensätze der Spektrometermessungen, sowie über 50 Datensätze mit RGB- und NIR-Portraitaufnahmen. Diese Bildaufnahmen wurden von den jeweiligen Probanden für die Veröffentlichung freigegeben. Weiterhin ist eine Datenbank mit Spektrometermessungen, RGB- und NIR-Aufnahmen von verschiedenen Masken und Gesichts-Verfremdungen verfügbar.

Details zur Datenbank:

Die H-BRS Haut-, Gesichts- und Fälschungs-Datenbank besteht aus drei Teilen:

„Spectro“: Spektrometermessungen von 120 Probanden, aufgenommen an 16 Messpunkten an Gesicht, Hals, Armen und Händen im Spektralbereich von 660nm bis 1700nm. Verwendet wurde ein Spektrometer vom Typ irSys 1.7 des Herstellers TQ Group GmbH. Die Remissionsmessungen wurden mit Hilfe eines speziellen zweiwege Lichtleiterkabels und einer handelsüblichen Halogenlampe durchgeführt.  Zu jedem Datensatz sind Geschlecht, Alter und Hauttyp des Probanden angegeben.

„Face“: Farbfotos (RGB) und multispektrale NIR-Aufnahmen in den Wellenlängenbändern 935nm, 1060nm, 1300nm und 1550nm, sowie die zugehörigen Spektrometermessungen von (derzeit) über 50 Probanden. Als RGB-Kamera kam eine Canon EOS 50D mit 50mm Objektiv zum Einsatz. Bei der NIR-Kamera handelte es sich um eine Allied Vision Goldeye P032, das vollständige NIR-Kamerasystem ist in [1] beschrieben. Zu jedem Datensatz sind Geschlecht, Alter und Hauttyp des Probanden angegeben.

„Spoof“: Farbfotos (RGB) und multispektrale NIR-Aufnahmen in den Wellenlängenbändern 935nm, 1060nm, 1300nm und 1550nm, sowie die zugehörigen Spektrometermessungen von verschiedenen Masken und Gesichts-Verfremdungen. Als RGB-Kamera kam eine Canon EOS 50D mit 50mm Objektiv zum Einsatz. Bei der NIR-Kamera handelte es sich um eine Allied Vision Goldeye P032, das vollständige NIR-Kamerasystem ist in [1] beschrieben.

Näheres zur Entstehung der Datenbanken und technische Details wurden von Steiner et al. (siehe [1] und [2]) veröffentlicht. Die Datenbanken sollten nicht als abgeschlossen angesehen werden und können ggf. laufend erweitert werden. Den jeweils aktuellen Stand und eventuelle inkrementelle Updates finden Sie unten.

Datenbanken anfordern:

Um die Datenbanken anzufordern, füllen Sie bitte das nachfolgende Anforderungsformular aus (sollte unten kein Formular angezeigt werden, folgen Sie diesem Link). Bitte geben Sie dort Ihren Namen, Ihre Hochschul- / Institutions- / Organisations-Zugehörigkeit und eine gültige E-Mail-Adresse (idealerweise bei der jeweiligen Institution) an. Nutzen Sie das Kommentarfeld, um kurz Ihr Forschungsgebiet und die geplante Verwendung unserer Datenbank zu beschreiben.

Wenn Ihrer Anfrage zugestimmt wird, erhalten Sie eine automatisch generierte E-Mail mit den Informationen zum Herunterladen der Datenbanken.

Die Nutzungsbedingungen der Datenbank finden Sie hier.

 

Aktueller Stand:

„Spectro“ ist vollständig verfügbar.
„Face“ wurde zuletzt am 27. April 2015 aktualisiert.
„Spoofs“ wurde zuletzt am 21. April 2016 aktualisiert.
Bisher sind keine zusätzlichen (inkrementellen) Updates verfügbar.

Kontakt:

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Norbert Jung
Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg
Institut für Sicherheitsforschung (ISF)
Grantham-Allee 2 – 8
53757 Sankt Augustin (Deutschland)
Tel: +49 (2241) 865 – 792
Fax: +49 (2241) 865 – 8792
E-Mail: isf-admin@h-brs.de

Referenzen:

[1]: Steiner, H.; Sporrer, S.; Kolb, A. & Jung, N.: “Design of an Active Multispectral SWIR Camera System for Skin Detection and Face Verification”, Journal of Sensors, vol. 2015, Article ID 456368.

[2]: Steiner, H.; Kolb, A. & Jung, N.: “Reliable Face Anti-Spoofing Using Multispectral SWIR Imaging”, Proc. Int. Conf. Biometrics (ICB), 2016 (accepted for publication).