The initially involved departments of the university are: Computer Science (FB 02), Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Technical Journalism (FB 03), and Applied Sciences (FB 05).

Representative examples of research topics addressed are:

  • FB05 – Research Centre “Civil Security” (Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Fink, Prof. Dr. Gerhard Holl, Prof. Dr. Harald Illges, Prof. Dr. Karl Jonas, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Norbert Jung, Prof. Dr. Peter Kaul, Prof. Dr. Gerd Knupp, Prof. Dr. Jürgen Pomp, Prof. Dr. Dieter Reinscheid) E.g, sensors for detection and analysis of explosives and energetic materials
  • FB 02 -. Research area “Information Security” (Prof. Dr. Kerstin Lemke-Rust, Prof., Prof. Dr.-Ing. Karl W. Neunast, Prof. Dr. Hartmut Pohl, Prof. Markus Ullmann, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Norbert Jung) E.g, the development of secure software and secure human-machine cooperation
  • FB 02 and FB 03 – Research Center “Functional safety” (Prof. Dr. Alexander Asteroth, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Norbert Becker, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Breuer, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Iris Groß, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Norbert Jung, Prof. Dr. Dietmar Reinert) E.g, reliable non-contact sensors for hazard detection; safety assessment of production facilities
  • FB 03 and FB 05 “Secure supply networks” (Prof. Dr. Gerd Knupp, Prof. Dr. Robert Scholl) E.g, low-cost drinking water disinfection